Dr. Krishnan V. Chakravarthy MD, PhD

Assistant Clinical Professor, UCSD Center for Pain Medicine

Krishnan Chakravarthy, MD, PhD is an assistant clinical professor who specializes in multi-modal pain management. He is Director of Clinical Pain Research at the UCSD Center for Pain Medicine.

Dr Chakravarthy completed sub-specialty fellowship training in pain management at Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School and residency training in anesthesiology at The Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, MD. He interned in general medicine at Griffin Hospital (Yale Affiliate) in Derby, Connecticut. He earned his MD, PhD degrees at Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences in Buffalo, NY.

Dr Chakravarthy’s research interests in pain medicine include incorporating new technology into advancing pain care. He is currently focusing on using nanotechnology as a novel system to develop new drug delivery and point of care device platforms to manage chronic pain, and small molecule drug development. He runs a National Institute of Health funded laboratory, with the an affiliated appointment in the Department of Nanoengineering.

Prior to joining UCSD, he served as a contractor at the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) where he researched host immunity to influenza virus as a way of developing novel therapeutic and vaccine strategies. His research work has been published in top journals including Anesthesiology, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, and Pain Medicine. His research work has been also featured in Times of India, International Business Times, Futurity,NewsMedical and other national and international venues.

Dr Chakravarthy is also a founder of several biotechnology startup companies in the nanotechnology and pharmaceutical space. He is an active entrepreneur and believes industry plays a critical role in seeing translational science make it to patients.

Dr Chakravarthy currently serves on the editorial board of several national and international peer reviewed journals, and committees on organizations such as the International Neuromodulation Society. He is also the recipient of several national awards including the American Society of Pain and Neuroscience Young Innovator Award for outstanding research, clinical, and advocacy work in pain medicine.


This speaker has made no appearances.